The simFlight Network Forums

Fix control acceleration

Hello Sir Pete!

Firstly, thank you for the whole time of contribution rendered for the aerial simulation.

I am a freware panel designer and after the release of FS2004, my e-mail box has been being flood, mainly with the relative problems to FIX CONTROL ACCELERATION.

Does some form exist to solve this, or should I indicate the purchase of the fsuipc for all of the people that write me?

I don't understand if it can have some license form so that just FIX CONTROL ACCELERATION works.

Thank you.

Helio Estrela

I am a freware panel designer and after the release of FS2004, my e-mail box has been being flood, mainly with the relative problems to FIX CONTROL ACCELERATION.

Does some form exist to solve this

The problem is caused by some third party gauges sending many controls ("Key Events") to FS (either via the PANELS interface for Gauges, or direct by SendMessage with WM_COMMANDs) many times per second. This defeats the timer used in FS for accelerations, making it wrongly think that the increment/decrement operation the user it trying to do is being repeated fast.

The proper fix is to re-program those gauges to not do such unfriendly and performance damaging things. The ones I looked at are very wasteful. They keep sending the same events over and over and over, which accomplishes nothing but a performance hit and this acceleration difficulty.

If you are writing such gauges then you can fix them yourself. Just don't send controls except when you actually want to control something. If you are using other people's gauges, then choose ones which don't exhibit such bad behaviour. All the default FS gauges work fine. The MS programmers don't do such bad things! :-)

Regards,

Pete

• 4 weeks later...

Hello Pete,