The simFlight Network Forums

automatically distributing fuel

Hello,

I'm wondering if anyone has a code sample for taking a block fuel quantity and automatically distributing the fuel through the tanks.

I understand how to use the dll to add fuel to a tank, it's just the calculating of amounts for each tank that has me a bit stuck on how to do this most efficiently.

Here's what I want to do:

Fill aux and/or tip tanks first if present

fill main left and main right next

finally fill center tanks with remaining fuel.

Any help would be apreciated.

Thanks Paul. I've said this before, but you are awesome!

I'm relatively new to coding, so your help has been great.

I'm sure I've mentioned this before, but the add-on we're writing is an interface that allows totally blind users to use FSX or p3d. About a year and a half ago, It started off as a way to know the nearest city to your aircraft position, but it's now snowballed into something fairly complex. It's rapidly becoming a completely accessible flight management system. 

In fact, we've been asked to present at the Toronto Accessible Gaming conference at the end of October. This is just to say that we wouldn't have come as far as we have without your amazing interface into FSUIPC. 

I remember you mentioning it before. I think it's a very worthwhile project so I've been more than happy to help. Congratulations for being asked to present at the conference, that's great.

You've also come up with some good ideas for the DLL which makes it better for other users too.

Version 3.1.22 is now up on NuGet with the automatic fuel loading. Full documentation and examples will be in a separate post below.

The fuel is loaded according to a flexible distribution scheme. I've set the default scheme to the one you described above (tips and aux first, then main, then centres). However, it's configurable so you can make up a different one if you need to.