The simFlight Network Forums

Help with syntax when using Lua routine n=ipc.readUB(offset) and offset 3125

I'm new to using offset and counting in binary, so my issue may be my full understanding of Hexidecimal and bits work. I'm trying to read the status of Fuel pump in FSX. with aircraft with 4 engines and I beleive that I am getting cthe orrect results when using offset 3104 which only appies to one engine as follows  n=ipc.readUB(3104).  I'm getting expected result of 1= on and 0 = off. My quetion is surrounding using same logic but now with offset 3125.  My understanding which may be flawed, is that memory location 3125 is an 8 byte location and I think that bit location 1 (2^0) has engine one information, bit location 2 (2^1) has engine two information, bit location 4 (2^2) as engine three information and finally bit location 16 (2^4) has engine four information?

My questions are:

1. My inital thought above was that I am dealing with an 8 byte memory location, but my engine 4 logic (2^4) is calculating a bit 16 location so I think my logic is flawed, how I'm I thinking wrong? 
  2. How do I fill out the ipc.readUB(offset) when only wanting one specific bit location? I think I need to use a mask, but not sure syntax to use? For engine three for example, would it be n=ipc.readUB(3125&04)?
  3. I'm I correct that I should expect to to get the same results as offset 3104 for each engine of 1= on and 0 = off?

Thanks

6 hours ago, oneaokguy said:

My inital thought above was that I am dealing with an 8 byte memory location, but my engine 4 logic (2^4) is calculating a bit 16 location so I think my logic is flawed, how I'm I thinking wrong? 

Its a 1-byte or 8-bit address. Bit 1 (counting from 1) holds pump1, bit 2 holds pimp2, etc

How do I fill out the ipc.readUB(offset) when only wanting one specific bit location? I think I need to use a mask, but not sure syntax to use? For engine three for example, would it be n=ipc.readUB(3125&04)?