The simFlight Network Forums

C# app integration for hardware

brandonharwood14

Hi Pete, 

Firstly wanted to thank you for all the work you've put in over the years for the flight sim community.

I have recently been trying to integrate my C# application with your FSUIPC and WASM module. Reason being, I have started up a company that develops GPS, Autopilot, Radios and Intercom panels for use with both XPlane and FS2020.

I'm focusing now completely on FS2020 dev and cant seem to figure out if FSUIPC will allow me to integrate my hardware functionality through FSUIPC to send to the simulator. To make matters worse I'm not that good at coding and also don't understand FS2020 side of things as much as I would like.

I have tried to access the Hvar's to send to the simulator but it seems that this is aircraft specific and a file required for each different set of Hvar's?
So how can I make the program try and send events to the simulator that are not aircraft specific, I know I can just use offsets for most things (which is similar to SimConnect events?) however items such as FMS knob presses on GNS530 or g1000 for example are not just generic commands but I believe Hvar's?
Just in need of a little guidance :)
Thank you!

Regards - Brandon

10 hours ago, brandonharwood14 said:

I have tried to access the Hvar's to send to the simulator but it seems that this is aircraft specific and a file required for each different set of Hvar's?

Yes, that is correct. However, it is far easier, and recommended, to access hvars using either presets or calculator code directly rather than using *.hvar files to make the hvars known to FSUIPC7.

10 hours ago, brandonharwood14 said:

So how can I make the program try and send events to the simulator that are not aircraft specific, I know I can just use offsets for most things (which is similar to SimConnect events?) however items such as FMS knob presses on GNS530 or g1000 for example are not just generic commands but I believe Hvar's?