The simFlight Network Forums

fsuipc node.js module/event listeners

Hello guys,

first of all, i am totally new to the fsuipc developing side, so please bear with me, when it comes to the way i can interact with fsuipc.

I am currently experimenting within an electron-framework app, which ultimatly (in faaaaar time) shall become a tracker. In my research on interacting with fsuipc via javascript, i found the fsuipc-module on node-js. This module gives me the ability to poll data from fsuipc in certain intervalls. In functions great, i already built a simple polling stream which gets data like longtitude and latitude for P3D and MSFS at a certain intervall.

But i soon realised, that for certain tracker-behaviors i need a event-driven-script. For example the touchdown. 

Things like engine start or takeoff, i could simply detect via my current polling rate. But for the landing, i need a event listener which listens to the altitude (like pegasus for the last 50ft) or the touchdown itself, as i do not want to poll in milliseconds for the last 100ft or the approach.

I already looked at the sdk, but as i am still a little new to the whole programming world, i did not find a good approach to my problem.

I know, that the event-driven-script may be complicated to explain, but i hope that somebody has the time to do so or to provide me with sources where i could learn more about it. 🙂

My current simple polling script looks like this:

const fsuipc = require('fsuipc');
let fetchingInterval;

const startFsuipcHandler = async (event, args) => {
  try {
    if (fetchingInterval) {
      //Stop fetching if its already started
      clearInterval(fetchingInterval);
      fetchingInterval = null;
      console.log('fetching stopped');
      return;
    }

//Start fetching every 5 seconds
    fetchingInterval = setInterval(async () => {
      const obj = new fsuipc.FSUIPC();
      await obj.open();