The simFlight Network Forums

FSUIPC

I am new to flight sim and have MS2004. My controller is a CH flightsim yoke USB.

I am hearing about FSUIPC software. CH says I don't need it or at least that they don't support it.

Do I need (or want) it? WHY? Where do I find it and what version do I need?

Thank you.

Louis

FUSIPC is mainly used to control some gauges and programs that work using flightsim data, like weather radar programs. Your controler should work with it, I don't see why should not. Only get FUSIPC if you are wanting to run gauges/programs that need it, until then you don't need it. I can't recall the site for it at this second, but I'm sure someone else will post it soon :wink: .

I am hearing about FSUIPC software. CH says I don't need it or at least that they don't support it.

Do I need (or want) it? WHY? Where do I find it and what version do I need?

1. You don't need it.

2. Of course CH don't support it. It isn't their program, it is nothing to do with them. It is nothing to do with CH in general, in fact.

3. Whether you want it or not is entirely up to you. If you download it you can browse through the documentation and see if it strikes you as useful. That costs nothing. Then throw it away if you don't find it of interest or don't understand it.

4. You find it on http://www.schiratti.com/dowson.

5. You must always use the latest version, no others are supported. Please see some of the announcements above for details and to keep up to date.

Regards,

Pete

You answered my question - sort of.

There are several downloads at that site and a couple of them have FSUIPC in the title. Which do I want?

I understand that you now charge for it which is fine with me. Or is there a freeware and a pay version with a discernible difference between them.

I don't need it, as you say, but what is it for? I also don't need to get into flight sim as a hobby. What does that program do, allow or enhance that would make having it at all advantageous?

Thanks.