The simFlight Network Forums

PTT button for 2nd networked computer

Algy

I am a relative beginner to networking, so excuse me if this question has been asked before.

I have registered versions of FSUIPC and WideFs

The main computer (XP) runs FS9 and the 2nd computer runs the voice client for FS9 (ATOC Voice module).

Ideally I would like PTT on the 2nd computer to be operated by a yoke button on the main computer.

i.e if I press an assigned button on the yoke this would simulate key F12 (for example) on the 2nd computer.

Can this be achieved?

Many thanks

Al

Ideally I would like PTT on the 2nd computer to be operated by a yoke button on the main computer.

i.e if I press an assigned button on the yoke this would simulate key F12 (for example) on the 2nd computer.

Can this be achieved?

Yes, you can do that, but it's a little complex to set it for keypresses. If your PTT is operating voice in Roger Wilco, or AVC, or Squawkbox 3, then simply assign the button to the PTT transmit on (when pressed) and off (when released). If you are using the latest FSUIPC and WideFS, the rest is taken care of for you. You don't need to use any special keypress.

Regards,

Pete

Pete

Thanks for the quick reply.

The voice client is neither RW/AVC/Squawkbox3 but ATOC voice module for the FPI network.

Any key on the 2nd machine can be assigned for PTT

Would it be possible, for example to include a routine, here, which I could cut and paste into the WideFs .INI file.

Any help appreciated.

Al

Would it be possible, for example to include a routine, here, which I could cut and paste into the WideFs .INI file.

No, sorry, there are no "routines".

First you assign a button in FSUIPC to send a KeySend. Just assign a parameter of any previously unused number -- if this is your first, why not 1?

In Wideclient.INI you assign KeySend01 to the keypress of your choice -- all the codes are clearly listed for you.