The simFlight Network Forums

Strange PFC Yoke Aileron Behavior

Pete,

I hope you can help me troubleshoot this strange behavior ...

I have the PFC Jet Yoke, Rudder Pedals and use the 2 engine jet throttle quad. The PFC h/w is connected to my FS host via a USB-to-serial interface. I'm using PFC.dll v1.989.

I've been flying this setup for 2+ years with 767PIC and LDS 767 and have experienced no issues.

I recently purchased the PMDG 747. After the install I configured the pfc driver to use the 2 engine throttle quad to control the 4 engines. I enabled a user config, assigned the left throttle as throttle 1+2 and the right throttle as throttle 3+4. I also enabled the spoiler and thrust reverse levers. I closed down the pfc configuration utility and double checked my assignments by observing throttle, reverser and spoiler movement. All looks good.

I then get the aircraft airborne and initiate an easy right turn. The a/c violently rolled left, and then began to roll right. This behavior repeated everytime I would initiate a right roll. So, I ended the flight, restarted, and double-checked all my settings. When observing the aileron movement on the Flight Controls page, I noticed that as I slowly and continously input right aileron, the "dot" on the response curve would drop full negative and then return to the plotted curve. When inputing left aileron, all is fine. All is fine for up/down elevator, left/right rudder, brakes, etc. ONLY with right aileron to I get this sudden full down (negative) deflection. And it occurs at the same point in the deflection.

I decided to start over from scratch. First, I loaded the LDS 767 using the 2 engine throttle quadrant config. I repeated the test of control movements that I described above. Everything worked as it should. I ended that flight and started the PMDG 747, still using the 2 engine throttle quadrant config. Repeated the test again, everything worked just fine.