The simFlight Network Forums

WideFS for a beginner in networking

Pete,

After reading WideFS User's Guide for 5 times I just came to sad conclusion that I didn't fully understand it.

I am not experienced in networking. And I believe I lack some basic understanding of how it all is going to work.

Please find time to guide me.

Purpose: to make FS Commander installed on Toshiba laptop working with FSX on HP desktop. Both on Win 7.

What I did:

- bought respective FSUIPC and WideFS;

- installed WideFS on desktop; installed FSC as suggested: C/WideFS and C/FSC;

- placed .dll to modules' folder in FSX;

- with kind assistance of guys from Microsoft Russia I fixed issues with establishing workgroups and network. Now laptop's workgroup sees FSX (though it is llibrary FSX). Desktop's workgroup also "sees" folder on laptop.

And here I got stuck. What is going to happen next?

In FSX I see flashing "WideFS is waiting for client".

Where should I start to make it work?

I would be grateful for your word.

Regards,

Nicholai Ivanitsky

Moscow

Russia

After reading WideFS User's Guide for 5 times I just came to sad conclusion that I didn't fully understand it.

Why do you need to read it all and understand it all. There is only really a couple of pages you need to read. But 99% of users simply install it, register it, enable it, and use it. It is almost entirely self-configuring, especially if you use the same version of Windows on each PC.

I am not experienced in networking.

I'm afraid there is really nothing in any WideFS document to help you get a Network working. That's a pre-requisite. And I do not know enough to help with Network problems. You need to get your Network working beforehand.

- with kind assistance of guys from Microsoft Russia I fixed issues with establishing workgroups and network. Now laptop's workgroup sees FSX (though it is llibrary FSX). Desktop's workgroup also "sees" folder on laptop.

What I did:

- bought respective FSUIPC and WideFS;