The simFlight Network Forums

Throttle range

Hi

Im a newb to FSX and am trying to setup a saitek av8r-02 joystick. Using your  program i can assign the z axis to the throttle but in the joystick calibration section it wont recognize the full range in the bottom right hand section. On the axis assignment it goes from -16840 to 16840 but in the calibration i can only seem to get it to recognize -2640 to 2640. How can i get it to recognize the whole range please?

Im a newb to FSX and am trying to setup a saitek av8r-02 joystick. Using your  program i can assign the z axis to the throttle but in the joystick calibration section it wont recognize the full range in the bottom right hand section. On the axis assignment it goes from -16840 to 16840 but in the calibration i can only seem to get it to recognize -2640 to 2640. How can i get it to recognize the whole range please?

Where are you reading the -2640 to 2640? As the "IN" value? Have you assigned to the single generic throttle? Without knowing your assignment it is difficult to know what you are doing from here.

Assuming you haven't scaled the axis value in the axis assignments section of the FSUIPC4 INI file (something which would need some editing of the file), then there should be no difference at all between the value seen in the axis assignment screen to that in the calibration screen. In fact if you used the "FSUIPC calibration" assignment instead of the FS control assignment, then it is a copy, directly from one to the other.

If you used an FS control then it is possible something else is scaling it, though I've never heard of anything doing something like that.

You've really not provided enough information for me to help further. Maybe the best thing is for you to paste the contents of your FSUIPC4.INI filer into a message here -- you find it in the FSX Modules folder.

Oh, and please ALWAYS state the version number of the FSUIPC4 you are using.

Regards

Pete