The simFlight Network Forums

Question about using FSUIPC for Lat/Long data

I'm new to FSUIPC and am not sure if it can do what I need with my app. I want to build a window showing an airport diagram and show the position of my aircraft on this map as I taxi. Can I get FSX lat/long info via FSUIPC?

Thanks...

I'm new to FSUIPC and am not sure if it can do what I need with my app. I want to build a window showing an airport diagram and show the position of my aircraft on this map as I taxi. Can I get FSX lat/long info via FSUIPC?.

Yes, of course. See the Offsets list document installed into your FSUIPC Documents folder, and included in the FSUIPC SDK which you must surely have downloaded if you are interfacing to FSUIPC!

Pete

Another newbie question Pete (I know, they are endless):

What's the development cycle process? I'm using VS 2013 Express C#. When I run my VS IDE and FSX, FSX must be hogging all the resources because my VS 2013 IDE seems to have stopped working or is extremely slow in responding my mouse/key actions. Is this the way to develop for FSX or is there another trick to this development cycle?

Just to clarify, FSUIPC has to be started under FSX? Or can I start it by itself? The reason I ask is because I'm trying to use Paul Henty's FSUIPC Client DLL and when I try to open an FSUIPC connection it fails. I'm NOT asking for support on the DLL, I'm just saying where my question came from. So, I started up SFX to get FSUIPC started but then I couldn't use my VS 2013 IDE at the same time. So, I guess I'm puzzled how all of these components (FSX, FSUIPC, VS 2013) work together for the development cycle of coding.

Thanks...

FSX must be hogging all the resources because my VS 2013 IDE seems to have stopped working or is extremely slow in responding ...