The simFlight Network Forums

IPC Read

Hi,

Don't know where to ask this, but what is the syntax for READ statements used in the LUA samples I've been seeing for FS-X interfaces.  Can't find any reference in FSUIPC or LUA documentation.  I require data from two FSUIPC offsets.  How do you determine what suffix to use on READ?

Filename: display vals.lua

I've tried without success (these are Level-D 767 offsets added by Lekseecon_f):

while 1 do
  BrakePress = ipc.readUW(0x8b90)
  AltFlapPos = ipc.readUB(0x9300)

ipc.display("brake pressure="..BrakePress..",  alternate flap position="..AltFlapPos..)
  ipc.sleep(200)
end

Yet, I can log these offsets from within FS-X:

BrakePressure%20AlternateFlaps_zpsyaj1hp

From Lekseecon_f manual:

offset in the 0x9.... range is 1 byte (8 bit)
offset in the 0x8.... range is 4 bytes (32 bit)

Please consider this is my first attempt at LUA.  For all I know, my READs might work fine and the DISPLAY is whacked.

Dazed and confused...

Edited by Demon

9 minutes ago, Demon said:

Don't know where to ask this, but what is the syntax for READ statements used in the LUA samples I've been seeing for FS-X interfaces.  Can't find any reference in FSUIPC or LUA documentation.

Really? You don't look very far then. The Lua library document included in your FSUIPC Documents library contains details of all of the lua library functions offered by FSUIPC and WideClient! Have another look!  Each ipc.readXX function has its own description clearly stating the type of value it is intended to read. (Pages 4-6, in alphabetic order!).

11 minutes ago, Demon said:

've tried without success (these are Level-D 767 offsets added by Lekseecon_f):