The simFlight Network Forums

What am I doing wrong?

I am not a programmer. Try as I might, programming languages are all Greek to me. I took a course in Basic while in grad school. The only way I got through it was with lots of help from a friend. That being said, I have managed to hack my way through simple Lua files to activate Lvars through cockpit switches. My goal is to have P3D to recognize the switch positions for Parking Brakes and canopy/door in the cockpit and set the corresponding offsets to match the switches. However, right now I simply want to get the offset to match the switches by using PARMS assigned to the SPST switches  Using examples I found on the internet and reading what I can understand I cobbled together a script I thought  would work. It doesn't! FSUIPC does recognize and allowed me to set the switches. Would someone be so kind as to help lead an old man out of the darkness. Here is the script.

Thanks,

John

-- PBNC Parking Brake & Canopy Initialization

-- John Miguez

-- Paramenters

-- 1            Park Brake off
-- 2            Park Brake on
-- 3            Canopy  OPEN
-- 4            Canopy  CLOSE

-- Variables
-- Park_Brake        = 0x0BC8        -- FSUIPC Offset Values 0=OFF 32767=ON
-- Canopy              = 0x3367        -- FSUIPC Offset Values 0=OFF 1=ON

- Parking Brakes Set

if ipcPARAM == 1 then
    ipc.writeUW(0BC8,0)
end

if ipcPARAM == 2 then
  ipc.writeUW(0BC8,32767)
end

-- Canopy OPEN

if ipcPARAM == 3 then
  ipc.writeUW(3367,1)

end

-- Canopy CLOSE

if ipcPARAM == 4 then
  ipc.writeUW(3367,0)

end
end

2 minutes ago, jmig said:

Here is the script.

The offsets you are using are hexadecimal, so should be represents with the prefix 0x. You appear to have recognised that in these comments:

-- Park_Brake        = 0x0BC8        -- FSUIPC Offset Values 0=OFF 32767=ON
-- Canopy              = 0x3367        -- FSUIPC Offset Values 0=OFF 1=ON