The simFlight Network Forums

keeping track of a large amount of offset states

Hi,

I'm just learning c#, so I apologize for the newbie question.

I've looked at the WPF template, and basically got my head around how this works.

My application is an accessibility layer so that blind flight sim users can get speech feedback for various instruments and aircraft states.

In addition to reading many offsets (over 100), I need to keep track of the previous state of the offset. So, for example, I need to keep track of the previous Autopilot altitude, heading, speed, etc. offsets so I can let the user know when they change. Does anyone have any code snippet or technique for doing this? I know I can just store the previous value in another variable, but wondering if there is a more efficient way of doing this. 

I know this is more of a c# question than a fsuipc question, but just wondering if someone can throw me any suggestions.

Hi Jason,

I could add a property to the offset class to tell you if the value was changed at the last Process() call. Would that be of use? You wouldn't be able to get the previous value, just know if it changed. Something like:

FSUIPCConnection.Process();
if (this.myOffset.ValueChanged) {
   // Tell the user
}

The problem I can see with this is that you won't be able to decide how much of a change to respond to. For example, your program may not care about a change in 1 foot of altitude, just maybe 100ft.

If knowing the previous value is important, or you need to be able to specify minimum changes, then the easiest way is just as you described. Just have a set of variables storing the previous values and test them applying your minimum thresholds.

Paul

That would actually be really useful! A lot of the instruments I'm reading are toggles, so this would be really helpful.