The simFlight Network Forums

Assign Free Look (mouse look) to mini Joystick axis FSX

Good day,

Using FSUIPC 4.971, registered version

I have a Thrustmaster TWCS Throttle. It has a mini joystick that FSUIPC sees as Joystick D with X & Y axis.

Is there a way I can assign the freelook (mouse look) function to this Joystick. Currently I  have a button on my yoke (CH Eclipse) set to toggle the mouse look function then use the mouse, then toggle back. 

Thanks for any assistance.

Hal

6 hours ago, HalCon said:

Is there a way I can assign the freelook (mouse look) function to this Joystick. Currently I  have a button on my yoke (CH Eclipse) set to toggle the mouse look function then use the mouse, then toggle back.

I think FSX/P3D (you don't say which) only operates that by mouse. I can only think of trying either

1. using Pan View instead. This suits a POV , like, I think, one of those on your yoke handles, or
2. make a Lua plug-in script to operate the mouse in response to yoke movements.  There are functions in the mouse library to move the mouse pointer around, and operate the wheel, and click the buttons. It would take a bit of working out to get it working to your satisfaction.

I'm note sure whether Pan View operates suffiiciently like Mouse Look for your purposes. I've always used it for looking around, outside, in the cockpit, whatever.  I very seldom use the mouse with flight simulation.

Pete

Thanks for the reply Pete. I am OK with using the mouse.

In MSFS the mini joystick axis is able to be assigned to the free look function, and works great. No toggle required to activate. No conflict with normal mouse operation.  

Just kind of hoped that it might be able do the same thing in FSX. I will start my quest by studying the advanced user manual. I have never gone into that one yet.

Thanks again for the response.

Hal

20 minutes ago, HalCon said: