The simFlight Network Forums

Set Button action in FSUIPC5.ini

Hello,

I am trying to assign 2 actions to buttons of my throttle using the technique explained in the Advanced Manual  (Format of buttons definition).

I am not a developer and all these things are not familiar to me.

I want to assign the TAB key to a button and the ENTER key to another one. After some studies, I wrote the following statements in the FSUIPC5.ini file but expected actions are not occurring:

16=P7,13,K,4     -{Shifts: TAB}-                       As there is no Key press, I have left K with no data... Is that correct?

20=P7,14,K13,8     -{Key press: ENTER }-      This one looks correct regarding the syntax but it does something else (full throttle...)

The statements in {...} are entered manually by me. 

Can someone help me fixing this?

Thanks

Bruno

2 hours ago, Braudoux said:

I am trying to assign 2 actions to buttons of my throttle using the technique explained in the Advanced Manual  (Format of buttons definition).

But why are you doing this? If you want to assign a key press to a button, just use the left-hand side of the Buttons + Switches assignment UI panel. Just do that and then take a look at how the assignment line looks in your FSUIPC5.ini file afterwards.

The statements in {...} are entered manually by me. 

You shouldn't do that either - these comments/annotations are automatically generated.

16=P7,13,K,4     -{Shifts: TAB}-                       As there is no Key press, I have left K with no data... Is that correct?

No. You need a number - use 0 if assigning to a modifier on its own, and you need to add 8 to the shifts, so should be:

16=P7,13,K0,12

You need to do this one by editing your ini, as you need to give a non-modifier key when assigning in the UI.

20=P7,14,K13,8     -{Key press: ENTER }-      This one looks correct regarding the syntax but it does something else (full throttle...)