The simFlight Network Forums

Lua script very slow

First I am a very beginner in programming in LUA. I have made a script for my Captain sim 767. That script reads the Lvars from different lights, to see their status. And writes them to some FSUIPC offsets. This script is attached to this topic. In the script there is a function for checking these lights.

At the end of the script there is a event.timer to restart the function every 1 ms. But when I execute the script and a light in p3D turns on, sometimes it lastst till 2 seconds before the light turns on in my homecockpit. Am I right that this delay is caused by the time that the length of the script needs to fully execute? If so, what can I do to speed it up?

Thanks in advance.

Kees

76_lua_lights.lua

12 hours ago, Kees69 said:

But when I execute the script and a light in p3D turns on, sometimes it lastst till 2 seconds before the light turns on in my homecockpit. Am I right that this delay is caused by the time that the length of the script needs to fully execute? If so, what can I do to speed it up?

How are you executing the script? If doing this on a button or key-press. then it will be compiled each time before it is ran which also takes time. Lua scripts based in events should be started from the [Auto] section, or a profile specific [Auto.xxx] section.

Also, a 1ms timer seems far too fast - do you really want to do this 1000 times a second? Try using a reasonable number (e.g. 100 for 10 times a second) and you will probably get better performance. You can also try activating debugging for lua scripts which would give you the timestamps for each line executed, which would tell you what is taking the time. I expect it will be reading the lvars, as this is delegated to the the panels.dll in P3D.