The simFlight Network Forums

Any reason to use the Saitek Throttle axis lever buttons?

I have been manually programming 2 Saitek throttle quadrants with fsuipc. I've read all the posts here concerning this piece of hardware, and I'm a bit confused about the utility - if any - of the buttons that are triggered when you pull an axis lever all the way back past the detent. While this function might be helpful when using the Saitek programming software - which I've not looked at - I don't understand why I would want to use these buttons when programming the TQ with fsuipc. Yet I see that some people on this forum are doing just this, although the complexities of their posts are beyond my programming skill level. Am I missing something? Please bear in mind that this is my first attempt at using a TQ and programming it with fsuipc.

Let me explain my thoughts a bit further. With fsuipc, I think I am able to calibrate an axis to do what I would want it to do without making use of this button feature. Let's take the throttle axis as an example. With fsuipc I can calibrate the axis so that reverse thrust is activated once the lever is pulled past the detent. And if I calibrate a wide idle area just above the detent, I can easily disable reverse thrust by pushing the lever forward just past the detent. So why would I want - as some people seem to be doing - to program a button below the detent that uses the throttle lever to activate reverse thrust when triggered and deactivates it when released? It just seems to make no practical sense to me. In addition, if there were some benefit to setting up this button, I've not yet figured out how to eliminate or override the fsuipc calibration that almost seems to require that there be an axis area devoted to reverse thrust if available on the plane, although perhaps this can be accomplished by reducing the span of the reverse thrust area to 0.