The simFlight Network Forums

Low Speed Elevator/Rudder Sensitivity

NZFF

Hi all,

I'm new to both FS2020 and FSUIPC7 having had a long break from simming since FSX.

I noticed all the the GA aircraft that I am flying in FS2020 appeared to have both an overly sensitive response at low airspeed for both rudder and elevator axes, so dulled down the sensitivities in FS2020 control settings. They still appeared over the top so went googling and came across FSUIPIC7 and the concept of adjusting slopes. I have not been able to find a user manual so trialed and errored a few different varies to try and increase the flat dead area in the center of the curve. Is this the correct methodology? If not, could someone please point me in the correct direction?

I've attached a screengrab of what I currently have the values set to. 

Also wondering if I need to start FSUPIC7 every time I use the sim, or if its a set once and forget type software?

I still find my aircraft are far too twitchy and responsive on short final and in the flare. For what its worth, I'm using a new Logitech Extreme 3D Pro joystick.

Kind regards,

Andy

Capture.PNG

Let me put my FSUIPC experience in contrast to yours: according to my SimMarket order history, I've been an FSUIPC user since 2004 (FSUIPC3). 

And, yet, I have no idea how to configure Aileron, Elevator and Rudder axes in a way that they behave halfway realistic, or even just predictable. I've tried handling the axes in MFS and reducing the sensitivity to a fraction of the default value (with sensitivity values of -60% down to -90%). I've tried handling the axes in FSUIPC with extreme response curves and by manipulating the min/max values in the ini file, sacrificing the full range of control surface motion for more precise control.