The simFlight Network Forums

Lua script to avoid GSX menus ?

I have a complete A320 home cockpit, currently running with FSLabs. I can do the complete GSX flow from the hardware, but of course I still get the GSX menus on the main scenery beamer. Not very immersive.

I'm currently running everything from one PC, but would have a second PC available for networking. I was wondering, is there any chance, maybe via WideFS, to use LUA scripts to avoid these menus popping up ? I have never used LUA scripts before, so sorry if this might be a stupid question.

Mike

21 minutes ago, Mikealpha2 said:

I'm currently running everything from one PC, but would have a second PC available for networking. I was wondering, is there any chance, maybe via WideFS, to use LUA scripts to avoid these menus popping up ? I have never used LUA scripts before, so sorry if this might be a stupid question.

Assuming you are using P3D3, 4 or 5 (you don't say), I'm afraid there's no way of suppressing the menus appearing. There's an option in P3D to suppress all the other texts.

For another PC with WideFS, you can have those other texts AND the Menus appearing neatly on another screen. I do this, with a small 7" screen (mounted vertically) attached to the inside of my cockpit.  The Lua plug-in I use is called AllTexts.lua and you will find it in the Example LUA plugins.zip file.  It makes full use of the event.textmenu function in Lua, explained on page 31 of the Lua library document. If you read through that it will give you a good idea of what it is about.

Since FSUIPC 5.142 the textmenu function has also been included in FSUIPC, so it is also possible to do all this on the same PC as P3D, but with the displays on a separate screen from your projected views.

Pete

1 hour ago, Pete Dowson said: