The simFlight Network Forums

Help with ATC

GKibby

I have played most of the versions of Tower and Tracon for many years. I have always managed to work my way through them and played them for hours and hours. But, that is my problem. I am self taught. I have managed to keep the planes from crunching one another but I have done it by trial and error. I have not issued commands to planes in the air other than to hand them off or clear them to land or change runways. I normally let planes pick their own taxi routes unless I need to change them to avoid conflicts.

I see discussions on this forum that reference taxiways I have never used and procedures for after takeoff. Is there someplace I can find the proper procedures so I can try them in  Tower 3D Pro? They would really make the game more interesting and challenging.. 

I'm a self taught ATCer myself and definitely no expert. For departure procedures, there are several sites you can use but my go to site is FlightAware. Taxiing is a bigger challenge. I'll listen to Tower/Ground via Live ATC if a feed is available or scour virtual ARTCCs for documentation, but I've found official taxi routes/charts tough to find (especially for US airports).

To specifically learn LAX (primarily the south complex): I've spent a lot of time watching the webcams, following air traffic using FlightRadar24, listening to ATC, and using FlightAware for additional information. For ground traffic, I did run across this document for LAX and it explains a few of the ground routes I've heard controllers use. 

Hope this helps ... looking forward to hearing what sources our more knowledgeable members use.   

• Upvote 1

TOWER!2011 LAX airport spoken commands:

Departures runway 06R --> From North: "XXX TAXI TO RUNWAY 6R VIA ECHO (E) ECHO ONE SIX (E16)".

From South: "XXX TAXI TO RUNWAY 6R".

Arrivals runway 07L --> "XXX TAXI TO TERMINAL VIA CHARLIE FIVE (C5)".

Slow flight arrivals (185knots) -->"XXX CHANGE RUNWAY 7R CLEARED TO LAND"