The simFlight Network Forums

Schedule creation - Airport Data

pocketdynamo87

Hey guys,

I'm currently working on a few custom schedules. I think I've got the hang of it pretty well by now. However, I can only find current airport data, which means of course reduced traffic due to the pandemic. Now, I'd like to create a few schedules with more traffic, according to pre-pandemic schedules, for example for KEWR and PHNL. Does anyone have an idea were I could get data for these airports for the summer 2019 season, for instance?

Once I compiled those, I'm happy to share the schedules with you guys.

13 minutes ago, scoobflight said:

Historical airport traffic data can purchased from sites like Flightaware.  Very expensive.

That's what I suspected... Actually, I have a business plan subscription to Flightradar 24 at the moment. With that, I can trace individual flights back to three years prior, but I can't find the option to view the complete activity at a given airport further back then 36 hours or so.

52 minutes ago, EliGrim said:

You could try https://www.flightera.net/ but if I'm not mistaken, the data here goes back 3 years as well and information on gates or terminals will also be hard to get. I assume with your FR24 membership you get the same information.

Ah! Thanks for the link, I didn't know that. That is most interesting! You can actually search for arrivals/departures on specific dates and it'll provide the data for you. That's what I was looking for!

36 minutes ago, pocketdynamo87 said:

That's what I was looking for!

Really? Is a mass download of flights possible (like on FR24 and FA) or do you have to view each flight individually? This site has been mentioned before but pulling a day’s worth of flights (or a week’s worth) looks to be a brutal exercise.