The simFlight Network Forums

Taxiing

osulover15

13 hours ago, crbascott said:

Criticism is always easier than constructive solutions. How would you have the commands work in the next version of Tower?

I wouldn't have them in the game at all.

It should just be taxi to terminal

2 hours ago, osulover15 said:

I wouldn't have them in the game at all.

It should just be taxi to terminal

Which would be incorrect for JFK, because they use ramps (although ramp is non-standard phraseology). On-block / off-block handling is managed by the ramp controller, not the ground controller, who starts to work with an aircraft as soon as it seeks to leave the ramp and enter either A or B.

It would also be incorrect for EDDM, because a lot of aircraft parking spots aren't connected to a terminal. They end on the apron, with bus transfer to the terminal. And apron is international standard phraseology.

• Upvote 1

@osulover12,

I am by no means an expert on this but from the reading I have done, ramp seems to have started because some airports actually had 'ramps' so they served seaplanes too, which used the ramp and it stuck, but is mainly in the US and Canada.  It seem that Apron is the more accepted 'correct' term for the area. As commented by DeltaVII a lot of parking is on the apron and you board the plane with a set of stairs, which is the way it was for many years.  I think the reason Terminal has become more common is the addition of JetBridge, Skybridge or what ever you want to call it (another thing with more than one name), and exit the plane directly into the terminal or the concourse (woops another one with more than one name).  Of course then you get in you car and drive on the highway, thruway, road, street, avenue......oh this is getting confusing.  Different areas use different terms for the same thing, as long as you know what they mean what does it matter?  Use the one you like. I use ramp since I have listened to a lot of JFK comms, but it doesn't bother me